It’s Okay With Me If You Say “I am A Little OCD” but……..

If you must utter the words “I am a little OCD” even if you do not have a formal diagnosis in hand, that is fine, I will not be offended, however, let me inform you on what it is really like to have Obsessive Compulsion Disorder, O.C.D  Those of us who truly suffer from it (as in we have to be on medication and/or be in therapy  for it,) it truly is a compulsion, the things we do, we have to do, to us it is as necessary as breathing, so when you see us behaving oddly or we lose our cool because things are not exactly the way we want them, please know its because we have reached a level of frustration. As hard as it is for you to understand our little idiocracies it is equally as hard for us to understand why you “The outsider” just don’t get it, because in our mind (witch we have a hard time escaping, harder then most) it just seems so logical, arguing with us does not help. Oh and telling us to calm down or “Its not that big of a deal” yeah, not a smart move

 

Believe it or not we are good problem solvers, just not when we are surrounded by chaos and have to many problems to solve, we really need to remove our self’s from the situation take some time and come back with a clear mind. I try to be as open as possible, I try to do things in a way that seems more effective, but I can guarantee you when I tell you I have to do things a certain way, its because I have tried every other way I could possibly think of, and they way I am going it is the most logical to me, does not matter if it makes sense to you, so long as it does not effect you, just move on, there are bigger fish to fry.

 

The one area I have the greatest issue with my O.C.D is work, mainly because people do not pay attention and I am constantly having to move things around to make my work more effective, I have come to find most of the time when I do these things my co-workers says “Oh that makes sense like that” but because for them it is not absolutely nesseacary to have it that way, it does not stay that way

 

The Take Away:

Obsessive Compulsion Disorder, O.C.D., is a real illness with real cause and effects, do not simply brush it off when someone comes to you says they have been diagnosed by a doctor to have had OCD, if you do not believe in mental disorders, that is fine, that is your right, however it is equally my right TO believe in them so do not try to push your beliefs on me, it is not going to help. and if you notice a co-worker, friend or family member showing signs of OCD just leave them be, don’t push them to go to a doctor or try to stop them from what they are doing, remember, its compulsion, its something we have to do, the more you stop us, the more frustrated we are going to get and in the end we are going to need to do it any way. Also wait for the person to come to you to admit they have a problem or to say they are getting professional help, whatever the situation and whatever your personal beliefs, support them, support what they are doing. Hard as it maybe, its the best thing you can do for them.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Published by

thisiswhatiamthinking2012

I like to share my thoughts on a wide range of topics, after reading my blogs, you will not have any doubt what my thoughts are on the topic(s) I have just blogged about.

Leave a Reply

