The Right Of Freedom Of Speech Does Not Give You The Right To Speak In Hate

Earlier today it was announced that Seattle Mariners Suspended catcher Steve Clevenger with out pay for the rest of the season after hateful tweets were sent out from Clevenger’s account, these tweets were aimed towards Preside Obama and the black community as a whole. Below are tweets sent out by the Mariner’s catcher as well as an apology, I have copied all this content from espn.com

 

Clevenger’s Tweet’s

 

“Black people beating whites when a thug got shot holding a gun by a black police officer,” one of the tweets said, according to Seattle radio station KOMO reporter Jon Humbert, who published screen-grab images of Clevenger’s account, which was set to private Thursday night. “Haha s— cracks me up! Keep kneeling for the Anthem!”

Clevenger’s Apology:

“I grew up on the streets of Baltimore, a city I love to this very day,” Clevenger said. “I grew up in a very culturally diverse area of America and I am very proud to come from there. I am also proud that my inner circle of friends has never been defined by race but by the content of their character. Any former teammate or anyone who has met me can attest to this and I pride myself on not being a judgemental person. I just ask that the public not judge me because of an ill worded tweet.”

“I do believe that supporting our First Amendment rights and supporting local law enforcement are not mutually exclusive. With everything going on in the world I really just want what is best for everyone regardless of who they are. I like many Americans are frustrated by a lot of things in the world and I would like to be a part of the dialogue moving forward to make this a better world for everyone.

“I once again apologize to anyone who was offended today and I just ask you not judge me off of a social media posting. Thank you and God bless everyone.”

Now, here is where I take issue, and where my blog got its title. I fully support our right to free speech,what I do not, will not and will never support, is to use that right as way to support a momentary lapse of judgement, or as a way to support hate speech in any way shape or form. There are ways to get our thoughts, feeling and aggressions out with out using hate speech, now a days we, adults want children to be more respectful of others. How can we possibly expect them to do that when we, adults in their lives, don’t do it our selfs. You don’t think they hear and see everything you do, your wrong children are so intuitive, and are such good listeners (no really they are) the absorb EVERYTHING around them, they soak it up like a sponge and remember it for a looooooooooong time.

We cannot continue to use The First Amendment as a way to back up our hurtful words, we, as adults simply need to learn how to be more respectful of each other

 

 

Published by

thisiswhatiamthinking2012

I like to share my thoughts on a wide range of topics, after reading my blogs, you will not have any doubt what my thoughts are on the topic(s) I have just blogged about.

Leave a Reply

